Genius Hour Reflection Blog Post

Link to my presentation

What topic did you research in Genius Hour? For my Genius Hour presentation, I chose to research media piracy online, also referred to online copyright infringement. Why did you choose this topic? I chose this topic because technology has always interested me and I wanted to know more about a certain part of the internet. I chose media piracy specifically because it is something very widespread and is a major part of internet culture. I felt that researching it would make me understand more about how some people behave online.

 (Blue Coat Photos)

What was your research question? My research question was: How does online media piracy affect the different industries? What did you learn? I learned a lot. To start, I learned all the different terminology like P2P (peer to peer) and other terms used in the context of my research. I then went on and researched about why people pirate (there sure are many reasons). In the last stage of my research, I tried to find out who was affected, how badly they were affected. For example how much money the software industry has lost so far. Quick fact: Did you know Game of Thrones was by far the most pirated show ever? (Noj, Clker, Grafikacesky. Assembled by me)

How did that help you grow as a person or a student? There are many aspects in which the project made me grow. First of all, I now know a lot of information about media piracy, and I also got a better understanding of copyright in a broader sense. This project also helped my time management. I am usually not a great person at time management but during this project, I noticed a great improvement in time management and getting my project due on time. Lastly, this project helped me grow my presenting skills. I learned to put only images on the slide, and have the script memorized.  Basically, give the audience something pretty to look at, while you tell a story. How did what you learn help (the world, community, animals, etc.) in some way? Explain. I do not think that my project helped very drastically. The main way it helped is by raising awareness to people about media piracy. Media piracy is very widespread and I know many people who pirate, this presentation helped them see the effects and do better choices. 

 (Federal Employees)

How will what you learn in the next Genius Hour help the world, community, yourself, animals, etc. in some way? Explain. I am not exactly sure what I will do for my next Genius Hour but I do think there are many ways in which I could help things around me with my next topic. The most obvious way is by informing people, but I definitely think there are many ways I could help the world around me. For example, I thought instead of just giving out information, why not teach people how to do something. Everyone has their own knowledge in different subjects, and I think it would be good to teach people something instead of just forcing them to memorize facts and information. I think this is the main field in which I will help the world around me with my next Genius Hour project.

 (Youngson)

 

Works Cited

Noj, Wons. “Jon Snow and Ghost”. Commons.Wikimedia.org, Wikimedia Commons, 7 Sept. 2012, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Jon_Snow_and_Ghost.jpg. Accessed 27 Nov. 2017.
Clker. “Pirate Hat Cap Death Warning Caution”. Pixabay.com, Pixabay, 3 Aug. 2014, https://pixabay.com/en/pirate-hat-cap-death-warning-311819/. Accessed 27 Nov. 2017.
Grafikacesky. “Parrot Bird Colored Drawing Animal”. Pixabay.com, Pixabay, 16 Oct. 2015, https://pixabay.com/en/parrot-bird-colored-drawing-animal-990222/. Accessed 27 Nov. 2017.
Strange, Bill. “Game Of Thrones’ Most Pirated Show Ever.” Iheart.com, Iheart, 27 July 2017, www.iheart.com/content/2017-07-27-game-of-thrones-most-pirated-show-ever/.
Federal employees. “The APW Seal”. Commons.Wikimedia.org. Wikimedia, 13 Aug. 2012, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Fbias-anti-piracy-warning-seal.png. Accessed 28 Nov. 2017.
Youngson, Nick. “Teaching”. TheBlueDiamondGallery.com. The Blue Diamond Gallery, http://thebluediamondgallery.com/t/teaching.html. Accessed 30 Nov. 2017.
Blue Coat Photos. “Data Thief – Hackers Cyber Crime”. flickr.com. Flickr, 17 Dec. 2014, https://www.flickr.com/photos/111692634@N04/16042228122. Accessed 30 Nov. 2017.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *